A Tea Room History From Lindsay’s to Lockett’s
By Larry Ellis
Earliest records indicate that Richard Tighe purchased the property in 1865. Title passed to various people until Robert H. Lindsay built a store on this site in 1896; the following year, the post office moved into part of the Lindsay store. The store and post office were destroyed by fire in 1928. The property was then sold to Frank and Annie Chapman in 1929. The Chapmans erected a small building and operated a snack bar on weekends for the next three years.
Bill and Myrtle Mandia purchased the building in 1932, changed the name to “Mandia’s Tea Room” and then added an addition in the early 40s. The jolly couple ran a thriving business as the only restaurant in town, including the first and only pinball machines.
Peter and Teresa Krupa purchased the Tea Room in 1952, changed the name to “Manotick Tea Room” and continued to operate the business until 1988. Very few structural changes were made to the Tea Room under the Krupa’s ownership; however, the eating area and menus were expanded to include full course meals. Until the mid 1960s, Highway 16 ran through the village, and the restaurant was more like a truck stop – probably the busiest one between Ottawa and Prescott.
In 1988, the Kuiack family leased the premises and continued the operation of the Manotick Tea Room, but with a different “flair” and “fare.” The interior was redecorated and menus matched the new design. The new look featured fine dining, popular during the 80s; then the recession caused a down-scaling of menus and a change in concept. The “last supper” in the Manotick Tea Room by the Kuiacks was served on August 30th, 1998.
In 2001, Pasquale DiCintio opened the doors on a new Italian-style restaurant, following renovations that make for comfortable dining in an elegant atmosphere. Pasquale brought with him many years of experience in fine dining, homemade pasta and other unique creations. The building, by this time, was owned by Manotick business man Chris Napior.
After DiCiento retired, Ottawa restauranteur Moishe Smith leased the building and opened a high-end steak house called Manotick Prime. That business failed, and Smith partnered with John Cavanaugh to open Burgers on Main.
Eventually, Shawn Lockett took over the building to open a restaurant. Despite the renovations that had been done to the building, a burst pipe led to a flood that closed Lockett’s restaurant. The building remained vacant until it was torn down last week.
The new building which will be at the location will be a two-storey office for Royal LePage Team Realty.